CSE director and Executive team

Oya Mercan

image9

CSE director

Associate Professor

Department of Civil & Mineral Engineering  

oya.mercan@utoronto.ca 

  

Research Interests: 

Dynamic behavior of complex structures;

Vibration mitigation; Structural control

Daniel Posen

image10

 Assistant Professor

Department of Civil & Mineral Engineering 

daniel.posen@utoronto.ca 

Research Interests: 

Life cycle assessment and life cycle thinking; bio-based chemicals & other uses for biomass;

Economic modeling of fossil fuel and energy markets;

Public policy & decision support models

Quantifying uncertainty in environmental systems & for evaluating environmental policy

Graeme Norval

image11

Professor, Teaching Stream
Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry
Email: graeme.norval@utoronto.ca

Research Interests:
Safety Management
Health and Safety
Process Safety
Occupational Health and Safety
Chemical Safety

Karen Smith

image12

 Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream 

Department of Physical & Environmental Sciences

Karen.smith@utoronto.ca



Research Interests:

   Atmosphere-cryosphere interactions

   Stratosphere-troposphere coupling

   Polar climate change

   Atmospheric general circulation

Marianne Hatzopoulou

image13

Associate Professor

 Department of Civil & Mineral Engineering 

Canada Research Chair in Transportation and Air Quality, Head of the Transportation and Air Quality research group TRAQ

marianne.hatzopoulou@utoronto.ca


 Research Interests: 

Traffic-Related Air Pollution

Urban Air Quality

Transportation Engineering

Transportation Planning

Marianne Touchie

image14

Assistant Professor,

Department of Civil & Mineral Engineering

 marianne.touchie@utoronto.ca  

 


Research Interests: 

Building science; Building energy use

Indoor environmental quality; Thermal comfort; Energy modelling

Building environmental monitoring

Building retrofits; Occupant behavior

Heat pump technology; Low-energy buildings 

Paul Kushner

image15

 

Professor of Physics  
Department of Physics
paul.kushner@utoronto.ca 





Research Interests:
Climate Dynamics
Atmospheric Physics
Cold-Climate Processes